It was a Saturday afternoon in 2005. I was having lunch with my mother and aunt at a Guatemalan restaurant. My cousin, about 5 years my senior, came to pick up his mother. He brandished his newest toy, the iPod nano that was just announced and released earlier that week (Tuesdays, wasn’t it?). I, being a poor student, had no means to purchase such a device, so I could simply gawk.

I had an iPod mini, which I loved. But while the mini was fun, the nano was totally mature. Insanely thin, sleek, and mature. Looking back, it may have been the device that was the turning point for the modern design we’re used to today.

I’ve spent the past two weeks with a 2gb white nano I scored off Mercari (had to be under ¥2,000 or so). Thankfully, the battery still holds a decent charge, and the screen hasn’t succumbed to the black spot of death caused by swelling batteries. I was able to take it for a spin, pairing it with different headphones and enjoying various brews.

This may be my favorite iPod to hold…? It’s like a chocolate bar, in that it’s long yet perfectly balanced. When cupped in the hand, the wheel sits center, allowing you to confidently scroll. The screen is bright, with the text sharp and clear, still legible through the butter-soft screen, which was prone to scratches. The UI is simple and perfect; no split-screen album views here, just fast access to your tunes. It’s delightfully minimal, perhaps the most of any iPod (sans shuffles).

Pairing large cupped headphones with the device felt a bit silly. A long, thick cable plug leaves the nano feeling like an afterthought. Of course, the nano was right at home with the original trademark white buds, but my IEMs also fit the bill.

It passes the ‘shuffle by albums’ test. I listen to my digital collection exclusively by albums in their entirety, so this feature is key for me. Believe it or not, not every iPod supports this.

But the dealbreaker comes in the lack of gapless playback ability. So, when listening to Madlib’s Shades of Blue, there is a slight pause between tracks. If this doesn’t phase you, have at it, but it’s a no-go for me.

Which is a real shame because otherwise, I’m in love with this device. Yes, the small storage limits how many albums you can carry with you (I roll with 20 or so), but I consider that restraint a feature. It’s thin and light enough to forget you have it when it’s in a small bag (although you better remember the earphones).